Moderation

Earlier this semester, I commented upon the importance of habits and consistency in Armstrong & Aristotle. In support of this notion is a quote, from novelist Paulo Coelho, I have placed on the lintel of my bedroom door: “If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine. It is lethal.” I glance at those words numerous times a day, and I am reminded of all the things I wish I did consistently. While I do practice saxophone day in and day out, I don’t study every subject every day. I don’t floss every day. I don’t write every day.

I was reminded recently that one cannot get bogged down in stressing about the things I did and did not do, though. After creaming SMU in a friendly Ultimate Frisbee match the other weekend, I was sitting at the following cookout commenting on how it was kite weather: not too humid, some wind. So a friend and I gathered kite materials, climbed the tower on campus, built the kite, and flew it out of the top of the tower.

So, sure, stick to a routine. But have adventure too. Moderation in all things, especially moderation.

Leave a Reply

