Goodreads & the Olympics

All I did today was sign up on Goodreads and add any book I could possibly think of that I’d ever read. Now I want to re-read all my old favorites, like the Little House on the Prairie books, and I found myself wishing that some of my favorite authors were still alive so I could write them letters, like John Steinbeck, Mark Twain, and Laura Ingalls Wilder.

Some of the books brought back memories, like how I cried so hard when I read Stargirl for the first time in the 4th grade, or how Out of the Dust touched me so much, or how much Endgame scared me. How my 4th grade teacher read Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban aloud, or how I discovered Sammy Keyes and the Curse of Mustache Mary in the bookmobile one day and fell in love with the series. How I couldn’t sleep after reading about aliens in one of those Dorling Kindersley books. How I read every Boxcar Children book I could get my hands on. Loving the original Nancy Drew mysteries. My American Lit teacher reading aloud “The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County” sophomore year and the entire class laughing uproariously.

Books hold so much. They’re heavy with how we connect ourselves with them. I love how there are so many, and how rewarding they are. My Goodreads account has quite a long “to-read” list associated with it now, as well!

Happy Fourth! It was too hot here for fireworks, but I went to camp tonight to help out and was fed barbecue. I also had an egg broken on my head as a part of the camp Olympics. The entire camp split in two: half had an egg Saran-wrapped to her head, and the other half jumped on an egg person’s back with a flip-flop in hand. While egg person runs around, flip-flip person tries to break other people’s eggs. I was an egg person, and it was like being in the Hunger Games.

The best Olympic game, though, was each cabin chose one camper to have shaving cream put in her hair. Then the rest of the cabin stood in a circle and threw cheese puffs at her head, which, if thrown with enough force, stuck to the shaving cream. The best cabin molded the girl’s hair into a bowl, and they got 201 cheese puffs in the bowl.

Oh camp, how I love thee. Also, this is the best collection of tags I’ve ever had on a post.

Leave a Reply

