I Made It

When you jump into reading the Iliad, you find yourself at the tail end of the ten year long Trojan War. Homer effectively brings you straight to the action, and if you wanted the backstory first, well, sorry he’s not sorry. It’s called in media res, people, and that’s what’s happening right here, too.

If you were hoping for some sort of autobiography so that you can A) psychoanalyze me or B) criticize me, well, that’s too bad. I’m in media res-ing it up and I have no shame.

Little known fact: I play softball at a NCAA Division III college, and yesterday was my last day. It was a crazy whirlwind of an adventure, softball, and I will not be playing again for various reasons: I want time for other things, I want to study abroad, I didn’t like the negativity of my coaches. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t regret it, because I had the pleasure of getting to know my amazing teammates. But it’s had its run.

Anywho, as I was saying, yesterday was my last day, and a teammate’s grandfather came up to me after everything was over and said, “Number 42, I just want to congratulate you on your attitude this season. Way to stick it out.” I was holding back tears as I thanked him, because somebody had finally realized just how difficult the whole thing had been for me. I worked my butt off the entire season, just too get to wear the uniform and scorekeep and cheer, watching as other players, who joined halfway through the season, get to play in my stead.

I made it to the locker room, and sat in my locker, just bawling, because I was so relieved it was over. And I couldn’t believe I’d made it. For the past year and a half, it’s just been a miracle that I make it through things. And I made it. Also, I made this blog, too. Double meanings! How poetic!

P.S. My number is 42 for a reason. In case you were wondering.

Leave a Reply

